Library Guides        Library Workshops          Opening Hours           Book an Appointment

Literature, Language and Theatre: eResources

Introduction

Below you can find the names of the most relevant online resources for your subject area. These resources are available through the Online databases and academic journals link in the Search the Library portlet.

Taylor & Francis Online

We have access to the Social Sciences and Humanities Collection in Taylor and Francis Online. The resource provides full text coverage back to 1997 and up to the current year. This is particularly useful for users of Education Research Complete in EBSCO where embargoes are in place on the accessibility of the most recent articles published within the last 18 months.

It can be accessed on and off campus via the My Learning/Learning Support pages in the portal. You can view a list of titles in the collection online at: http://goo.gl/HlSZxv

EBSCO Research Databases

Full text academic articles that are part of the EBSCO package are available through any of these three titles:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Humanities International Complete
  • Business Source Premier

The content of this database is crossdisciplinary. Students from all the disciplines in the Humanities and Social Science spectrum will find relevant content in this database.

How to find ebooks

You can search for our ebooks in LibrarySearch in the portal and via the separate eresource platforms. In LibrarySearch ebooks can be retrieved from search results by choosing Format then Ebooks in the Library Resources filter column.

Ebooks are accessible via the University portal from the Online databases and academic journals link in the My Learning/Learning Support page.

Drama Online

 

Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.

The constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.

Its unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.

Ebook PDF guides

BFI Inview

A collection of over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th century to the early 21st.

British Library Archival Sound Recordings

An online digital resource of sound recordings reflecting the broad spectrum of the British Library's holdings.

This collection of sounds include a section dedicated to "Accents and Dialects" that may be relevant for students in any of the Languages courses.

There is as well a section dedicated to Oral History and another one for Arts, Literature and Performance.

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts is a streaming service like BBC iPlayer for further and higher education. You can watch, record, edit programmes into clips, create playlists and embed clips into Moodle as well as share what you are watching with other users of the service. There is a growing archive of over 2 million programmes dating back to the 1990s to choose from.