Library Guides        Library Workshops          Opening Hours           Book an Appointment

Alumni: Home

Open access resources for Alumni.

Introduction

Please note: Alumni passes are currently on hold due to services not being available during the pandemic and restricted access to campus for alumni.

Find out below how you can access a range of open access resources via the University’s Library Service.

There is a wealth of open access information available for study, research and lifelong learning. We've compiled a list of some useful resources to assist you in further study or independent research.

Find out more about our alumni community and the benefits offered including Careers Support & Networking, Lifelong learning, Graduate recruitment, Campus benefits and exclusive offers and discounts, by visiting the Alumni website.

Use repositories as a source

Access theses and open access research papers by searching institutional repositories containing the research outputs of universities and other organisations. Contents are indexed by search engines so you will also find them in web search results. You can search:

CORE -  The world’s largest collection of open access research papers.

OpenDOAR - a global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. 

Accessing the resources of other libraries

City Business Library

The City Business Library (CBL) is the leading public library in the UK for free and current business information. There are no membership requirements or entry restrictions to the CBL. The CBL has both electronic and print Business resources that are available to use, free of charge.

Guildhall Library

The Guildhall Library is a major public reference library which specialises in the history of London, especially the City, as well as having other significant collections. The collections held at Guildhall Library are designated as national and international importance. One of the major collections at the Guildhall Library is the Business History collection.

Smithsonian Open Access

Useful open access resources

ACM Digital Library (You have access to selected Free content on the site)

British Library Business & IP Centre (YouTube video)

Cambridge Core (filter your search results to Only show open access)

Directory of Open Access Journals

Emerald Open Access

EThOS (The British Library's repository of doctoral theses)

GALA (Greenwich Academic Literature Archive)

IEEEXplore (filter your search results to Open Access Only)

MIT Press Journals (filter your searches to Only Show Content I Have Full Access To)

OECD iLibrary (A selection of reports, papers and statistics are freely available)

Office for National Statistics

Open Access Button

Open Access on MUSE

Oxford Academic (select Open Access, Free and Available articles from your search results)

PLOS ONE (Find open access research articles covering Biology, Medicine, Computational Biology, Genetics, Pathogens and Neglected Tropical Diseases)

PubMed Central (a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Royal Society of Chemistry (filter your search results to Open Access)

Sage Journals (filter your search results to Open Access Content Only)

Science Direct (select freely available Open access articles from your search results)

Social Care Online

Springer Link (select Open Access articles from your search results)

Taylor & Francis Online (filter your search results to Only show Open Access)

Wiley Online Library (filter your search results to Open Access Content)

Finding worldwide theses

Europe and North America

DART Europe E-Theses Portal | Theses.fr | PQDT Open | Theses Canada

Worldwide

National Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan | Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

South African Theses and Dissertations | Trove (Australia), which includes digital theses. Use the Research and Reports category on the Trove site.

Free European Union legal resources

Free general legal resources

There are many free legal resources, this is a selection of some of the main databases.