Library Guides        Library Workshops          Opening Hours           Book an Appointment

Marketing, Events and Tourism: Resources at External Libraries

London is home to world-class university and specialist libraries & archives, many of which, as a member of the University of Greenwich, you can have access to.

If you are completing a dissertation, thesis or other business research project, these sources may provide the specialist data or material you need.

There are excellent business libraries that are open to the public in London, and which you can use after graduation to help you with information for your chosen career, finding a job or setting up your own business.

Accessing the Resources of Other Libraries

SCONUL logo - decorative image

SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. 170 universities and other higher-education institutions in the United Kingdom participate in SCONUL Access.

SCONUL Access enables part-time, distance, and placement students, as well as staff and researchers and taught postgraduates, to borrow material from other university libraries or simply to use the libraries as a place of study. Undergraduate students may use libraries within the scheme for reference purposes only.

Click here to find out more about the scheme, who is eligible, how it works, and to apply. 

You can request a copy of any book or journal article not currently held by the University Libraries by using the Document Delivery service. Please visit this page to find out more about the service and to download a request form: libguides.gre.ac.uk/docsupply

There is a limit of five requests, but no overall limit on requests. This is a free service although there is a charge for renewing books borrowed via Document Delivery.

City Business Library

The City Business Library (CBL) is the leading public library in the UK for free and current business information. There are no membership requirements or entry restrictions to the CBL. The CBL has both electronic and print Business resources that are available to use, free of charge.

Guildhall Library

The Guildhall Library is a major public reference library which specialises in the history of London, especially the City, as well as having other significant collections. The collections held at Guildhall Library are designated as national and international importance. One of the major collections at the Guildhall Library is the Business History collection.

Decorative image - Business and IP Centre banner

 

You will find the British Library's Business & IP Centre at St Pancras.

On site access to Electronic Resources: primarily databases of market research, company, macroeconomic and other data and documents. Note: restrictions may apply to the output of any search results (in particular, the downloading or emailing of full text documents)

It is important to note that before using the British Library, you will need to obtain a Reader Pass. Specific enquiries should be addressed directly to the Centre.

You can search the British Library's catalogue online here: http://explore.bl.uk

Searching Other Libraries' Catalogues

Before visiting another library, especially if you will be travelling any distance, you should check their library catalogue to make sure that the items you want to use will be available for you to look at. In some cases it may be necessary to pre-order items in advance of visiting as they may be held in an off-site store.

All university library catalogues are available online. Information about some of the main catalogues, and joint catalogues, are listed below.

Search25

Search25 is a service provided by the M25 Consortium of Academic Libraries. Search25 enables simultaneous access to over 50 university, college and museum library catalogues in London and the South East. When you find a library which holds the item you are looking for, it is worth searching again on that library’s own catalogue (linked from the Search25 page). This will allow you to check whether the item is on open access (some libraries may hold materials in remote stores which you need to request in advance) or whether a journal includes the year you need. You may find that a journal is only held in electronic form, in which case it may not be available to students from other universities.

Most staff and students can use the M25 Consortium libraries under the terms of the national SCONUL Access Scheme. You should note that not all of the M25 Consortium libraries are within the SCONUL Access Scheme.

COPAC

COPAC is a union catalogue which provides access to over 80 merged online catalogues of the major research libraries in the UK and Ireland including libraries such as those of Oxford and Cambridge as well as the British Library.

SUNCAT

The Serials UNion CATalogue (SUNCAT) for the UK research community is a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK. It covers over 100 UK libraries including the British Library and some of the major university libraries.

© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions | Library policies