Library Guides        Library Workshops          Opening Hours           Book an Appointment

Sports: Journals, Databases and Critical Thinking

Sports LibGuide

Keywords

Here are some ideas on what makes a good keyword:

Think about who the population/ sample group. Are you looking for a particular age group, ethnicity, cultural background, gender, health issue etc.

  • What is the intervention/issue you want to know more about? This could be a particular type of medication, education, therapeutic technique etc. 
  • Do you have a particular context in mind? This could relate to a community setting, hospital, ward etc. 

It is important to remember that databases will only ever search for the exact term you put in, so don't panic if you are not getting the results you hoped for. Think about alternative words that could be used for each keyword to build upon your search. 

Magnifying glass

Using LibrarySearch to find journal articles

Useful Websites

There are many websites which you will find useful for your studies. I have listed some of the most popular ones below.
Please let me know if there are other websites which you feel others may wish to know about and I will include them on this page.

American College of Sports Medicine - requires a membership to access the main resources.

Australian Institute of Sport - links to some very good pages on sports nutrition.

British Association for Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation (BACR) - general news website for cardiology.

British Association of Sport & Exercise Sciences - has a student area with plenty of useful links.

British Heart Foundation - physical activity guidelines for all ages. Includes some journal articles.

Cochrane Collaboration - an evidence-based healthcare website. Full access to the Cochrane Library is also available on the Greenwich and Kent library webpages via the respective portals.

Department of Health - this page concentrates on obesity but other health and social care topics also web pages.

Electrotherapy - current non-commercial information on electrotherapy.

Health Enhancing Physical Activity (HEPA) - a World Health Organization website promoting physical activity. A newsletter can also be found here.

Human Kinetics - a major resource for physical activity and health. We subscribe to many of their print journals and have a number of their books and DVDs.

NHS Choices - a wealth of free information on this NHS Library website.

PEDro - a physiotherapy evidence database of over 15,000 randomised trials, reviews and clinical practice guidelines for physiotherapy.

SportEx - we take their 3 journals in paper copy but their website has more. You can self-register.

SportsScience - a peer-reviewed journal and site for sports research with plenty of very useful resources.

UK Athletics

ASCE

Using databases to find journal articles

The library have several databases of journal articles available for you to search to find the right information for your academic work. The advantage of using a database over searching on the internet is that you are only searching academic information like journal articles.

To access any of our databases, please login to the portal and go to the My Learning section and click on 'Online databases and academic journals'.

The best databases for nursing and midwifery topics are:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • Medline
  • PsycInfo

Other databases that would be useful are:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection

Critical Thinking

The library offers lots of workshops on critical thinking. We also have recordings of previous workshops which are available on the Academic Skills Hub and dedicated articles to get you thinking critically.

 

© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions | Library policies | IT Service Status