• Databases have options to export your search results directly to a reference management software or a screening tool.
• You can use RIS or CSV formats. These are compatible with reference managers (e.g., Mendeley, EndNote, Zotero,) and screening tools (e.g., Rayyan, Covidence).
• Export in batches if needed. Some databases limit the number of records per export or you have to select the bulk export option. If exporting large sets in batches, keep track of batch numbers to avoid overlap, eg 1-1000, 1001 - 2000, 2001-3000 etc.
• Include full metadata if needed. Ensure your export includes titles, abstracts, authors, publication dates, and source information.
• Document your export process. Record the date, database name, number of results, and export format for transparency and reproducibility.

To export search results from EBSCOhost, first run your search and then select the records you wish to save. You can add individual items or entire pages to your folder by clicking the folder icon next to each result. Once you've finished selecting, click the folder icon at the top of the screen to view your saved items. From there, click the “Export” button and choose your preferred format—RIS for reference managers like Mendeley,, Zotero, EndNote or screening tools like Rayyan, or CSV for spreadsheets. EBSCOhost supports bulk exports of up to 25,000 records, but for large result sets, exporting in batches is recommended to avoid errors.

To export search results from Web of Science, first run your search and then apply any relevant filters. Select the records you wish to export by ticking the checkboxes next to each result or using the “Select all” option for the page. Once selected, click the “Export” button located above the results list. Choose your preferred format—RIS for reference managers like EndNote or Rayyan, Excel for spreadsheets, or Plain Text for basic citation lists. Web of Science allows up to 1,000 records per export, so for larger result sets, export in batches and keep a record of each export for transparency.

To export search results from Scopus, first run your search and then apply any relevant filters. Select the records you wish to export by ticking the checkboxes next to each result, or use the “Select all” option to choose multiple items at once. Then click the “Export” button located above the results list. Select RIS format for reference managers like Mendeley, Zotero, EndNote or screening tools like Rayyan, or CSV for spreadsheets. You can also select which fields to be included, such as citation information, abstracts, and keywords.

•     Use reference management software: Tools like EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley offer built-in deduplication features.
•     Screening platforms like Rayyan: Automatically detect and flag duplicates during import.
•     Manual review may be needed: Some duplicates differ slightly in metadata (e.g., punctuation, author order) and may not be caught automatically.
•     Keep a log: Note how many duplicates were removed and from which sources. This is useful for PRISMA diagrams and audit trails.

Note: EBSCOhost automatically removes duplicate records when you search across multiple databases at the same time. You may notice that the total number of results you get might be lower than if you searched each database individually, as identical records are removed. You will be able to see the original number for each database before deduplication if you click on "all filters" and then "databases". For rigorous reviews, especially systematic ones, it is recommended to use a reference manager or screening tool such as Mendeley, EndNote, Zotero,  or Rayyan to identify and remove any remaining duplicates.