Library Guides        Library Workshops          Opening Hours           Book an Appointment

Human Resources & Organisational Behaviour: Library Resources

This guide will help you find key human resources and organisational behaviour information resources for your academic study and research.

If you have any questions, please contact your Academic Services Librarian, Rachael Hartiss (see details, below).

As your Academic Services Librarian, I work to make sure that the resources you need from the Library are in place to support your learning. I can help you find information for your assignments and projects and provide training in searching specific resources. You can make a one-to-one appointment with me or attend the general workshops we run throughout the year. For more information about our workshops, please visit the Academic Skills Support page of this guide.

Accessing Eresources

If you would like more information on accessing our eresources, especially if you are having problems, have a look at our Eresources LibGuide.

LibrarySearch

This service allows you to search across multiple databases containing primarily text documents: books; journal articles; conference papers, etc. Please note that it does not cover our quantitative data resources, such as Eikon and Orbis.

Resources for Human Resources and Organisational Behaviour

The Chartered Association of Business Schools publishes a guide to Academic Journals, assessing each one by several criteria of quality. These are the top rated journals according to this guide for human resources and organisational behaviour:

Human Resource Management and Employment Studies

  • British Journal of Industrial Relations 
  • Human Resource Management
  • Industrial Relations: a journal of economy and society
  • Work, Employment and Society
  • Human Resource Management Journal

Organisation Studies

  • Organization Science
  • Human Relations
  • Leadership Quarterly
  • Organization Studies
  • Organizational Research Methods 

Articles from these journals, and many other high quality journals, are available in LibrarySearch.

Reference: Chartered Association of Business Schools (2018) Academic Journal Guide 2018. Available at https://charteredabs.org/academic-journal-guide-2018-view/ (accessed 13/07/18)

You can use LibrarySearch to search all the different journal databases listed below in one go.

However, to focus on specific journal databases that are most useful for human resources and organisational behaviour subjects, have a look at the individual resources listed below. You can access them from the Online databases and academic journals link on the My learning page on the Portal.

Business and management journal databases

Business Source Premier is one of the Ebscohost databases that the University subscribes to. Business Source Premier provides access to over 2300 full-text business publications (including 1100 scholarly academic journals). It also includes over 10,000 company and country profile reports. Click here for an introduction to using Ebscohost databases.

Emerald Insight provides a large, comprehensive collection of 198 peer-reviewed management journals and online support for librarians, students, faculty researchers etc. Click here for a guide to searching Emerald Insight.

Psychology journal databases

PsycArticles and Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection are also Ebscohost databases. They provide access to high quality academic journals on all topics on psychology, including organisational behaviour and organisational psychology. Click here for an introduction to using Ebscohost databases.

Multidisciplinary journal databases

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across a range of disciplines, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. We subscribe to the Business 1 and 2 and Art & Sciences 1 collections. Click here for help with searching JSTOR.

Scopus searches millions of abstracts and index data. Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyse and visualise research. Click here to access tutorials on using Scopus.

Web of Science The core collection comprises the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Subject coverage includes the arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology. Click here for help with searching the Web of Science core collection.

​Publisher journal collection databases

Science Direct offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection with journals from a host of prestigious societies and scientific publishers. Click here for tutorials on using ScienceDirect.

Wiley Online Library gives access to an extensive range of journals, reference works and protocols, covering various scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines. Click here to access the Wiley Online Library user guide.

Business & Management Collection (HS Talks)

Video lectures and case studies from leading experts in industry, commerce, the professions and academia.

Click here for a quick start guide to using the Business & Management Collection.

Passport is a global market information database from Euromonitor. Provides data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. Click here for a help guide and videos on using Passport.

Office for National Statistics is "the UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK".

OECD iLibrary provides access to selected OECD periodicals and other publications, including: Working Papers; OECD Factbook; Quarterly Labour Force Statistics; Future Trends; Economic Policy Reforms; and OECD Economic Surveys. For off-campus access use this linkClick here for user guides and tutorials on searching OECD iLibrary.

Mintel provides full-text marketing intelligence reports and analyst insights on a variety of UK markets such as consumer goods, leisure and hospitality, retail and personal finance. Click on Federated login to get started. Click here for user guides and tutorials on searching Mintel.

At the University of Greenwich we subscribe to high quality legal resources that are used by companies throughout the UK and beyond. These include LexisLibrary, Westlaw, JustCite and Lawtel. You can access all our legal resources via the Online databases and academic journals in the portal.

Most of the full-text journals available within the law databases are not accessible via LibrarySearch so you will need to access them directly from the databases.

You may find that there is a section within these resources that is specific to the area of law you are interested in. For example, Lexis Library has several Practice Areas, including Employment, which will point you to relevant legislation and journal articles.

For more information about legal resources please visit the Law LibGuide.

We have access to all UK national and regional newspapers online in addition to more specialist news sources like the Financial Times and the Economist.

Lexis Library provides access to full text newspaper articles from national and regional newspapers, dating back to the 1980s. This excludes the Financial Times.

​The Economist is available in print format in the Library. The current issue is displayed on the new journals display unit on the ground floor; back issues are shelved in the basement under E.

FT.com provides access to the full-text of the Financial Times. To sign up for a free FT.com account on-campus, follow the instructions below. (To sign up from off-campus, follow this link and use your full University of Greenwich email address.)

Loading ...

Academic Services Librarian

Rachael Hartiss's picture
Rachael Hartiss
Contact:
Stockwell Street Library
Greenwich
London
SE10 9LS

© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions | Library policies