The library offers lots of workshops on critical thinking. We also have recordings of previous workshops which are available on the Academic Skills Hub and dedicated articles to get you thinking critically.

To access your databases go to My learning - gre.ac.uk 

Search for the database of your choice to be directed to the correct platform.

We have collated all the useful databases for your subject together in one collection for easy searching. Choose Databases by Subject: EBSCOhost and select Health Sciences Research Databases or Life Sciences Databases 

This is useful if you are doing smaller essays or scoping searches. 

*For your final projects and dissertations it is best to search one at a time using the Choose Databases A-Z, instead of Databases by Subject

Here are some ideas on what makes a good keyword:

Think about who the population/ sample group. Are you looking for a particular age group, ethnicity, cultural background, gender, health issue etc.

• What is the intervention/issue you want to know more about? This could be a particular type of medication, education, therapeutic technique etc. 
• Do you have a particular context in mind? This could relate to a community setting, hospital, ward etc. 

It is important to remember that databases will only ever search for the exact term you put in, so don't panic if you are not getting the results you hoped for. Think about alternative words that could be used for each keyword to build upon your search. 

Check the Quality of your BREAD!

BREAD stands for:

• BIAS - Does the author have a particular point of view? Does the article intend to sway you politically? Is the article trying to promote or sell a product?
• RELEVANCY - Is the article relevant to your topic? Is it relevant to the UK? Is it an academic journal?
• EVIDENCE - Does the article cite the sources it has used? Are there statistics to back up the research?
• AUTHOR - Is the author qualified in that research area? Are they experts in the field?
• DATE - Check the date of the article, if the article is older the information may be outdated. 

Consider each of these issues when searching for articles to find the best available material. 

Bedford, D. (2018) Nurses must consider which information to use and trust. Available at: https://www.nursingtimes.net/opinion/nurses-must-consider-which-information-to-use-and-trust-13-09-2018/

Grey literature is the name given to any material which is published outside of the commercial/academic circle. It includes reports, guidelines, conference proceedings etc. 

Places to find grey literature:

• NHS webpages
• NICE
• Government webpages
• Office for National Statistics
• Charities and other official bodies