LibGuides: Greenwich Business School: Subject databases

Subject databases

Below is a list of some of the most important academic databases for your subject area. This is only a small selection of the databases available via the Library's online collections.

A full list of the databases can be accessed via the Databases A-Z link.

Resources for Greenwich Business School

The Chartered Association of Business Schools has produced a guide to academic journals that assesses numerous journals by several criteria. Access this guide to find some of the top journals titles in your subject.

Recommended Business Databases

ABI Inform Global
In-depth coverage from thousands of publication including Wall Street Journal, Economist, Financial Times, Journal of Economic Literature, Journal of International Business Studies, Organization Science, Academy of Marketing Science Journal, American Economic Review, Accounting Review, Supply Chain Management, and MIT Sloan Management Review.
Business Source Premier
Access to over 2300 full-text business publications (including 1100 scholarly academic journals). Includes over 10,000 company and country profile reports.

Publisher Journal Collections

Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides a large, comprehensive collection of 198 peer-reviewed management journals and online support for librarians, students, faculty researchers etc.
Science Direct
Provides journal articles on accounting, finance and economics subjects. Also the Elsevier Science journal collection
Wiley Online Library
Provides access to an extensive range of journals, reference works and protocols, covering various scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.

Multidisciplinary Journal Databases

JSTOR
High-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across a range of disciplines, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. We subscribe to the Business 1 and 2 and Art & Sciences 1 collections.
Academic Search Premier
Access over 8,500 journals on varying subjects.

Databases Recommended for Research/ Literature Reviews

Scopus
One of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyse and visualise research.
Web of Science
Core collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Subject coverage includes the arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology.

The Economist
FT.com
When accessing FT.com for the first time, complete the form using your University of Greenwich email address with the domain greenwich.ac.uk or gre.ac.uk
Lexis+ UK
Provides access to full text newspaper articles from national and regional newspapers, dating back to the 1980s. This excludes the Financial Times.
PressReader
PressReader is a newspaper and magazine resource that provides unlimited access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines. There are no limits on downloads. Features include international language translation, text-to-speech and Topic alerts.
Regional Business News
Regional business publications including more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Content for Regional Business News includes The Washington Post, PR Newswire US and more.

Business & Management Collection (HS Talks)
HS Talks video lectures and case studies are delivered by leading experts from industry, commerce, the professions and academia. These regularly updated presentations allow you to make and save notes and download transcripts.
Emerald Case Studies
Part of the Emerald Insight collection. Includes Emerging Markets (EMCS), The CASE Journal (TCJ) and The Case for Women (CFW).
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning provides video tutorials that are led by industry experts. Once completed, certificates can be added to your LinkedIn profile.
Sage Business Cases
More than 3,000 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. Subjects covered includes entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.

Orbis
Orbis can be used to find financial data on a single company, or create a list of multiple companies and compare different variables.
Eikon
UPDATE 30/05/2025:
The Eikon platform will be retired 30/06/2025. It will be replaced by LSEG Workspace. There may be a period of downtime in early July before Workspace is available for use. Login procedures will change, and information about this will be published in this guide shortly.

Current and historical financial, company and economic data and news from LSEG, including data on financial instruments, debt and stock markets and foreign exchanges.

To login to Eikon, you need to request a username and password. To request an Eikon username and password, please complete the online form.

BRAD Insight
A practitioner tool for finding advertising companies. BRAD Registration Instructions: Click on "BRAD Login" in the top right of the screen. Click on "First time user? Create an account" and complete the form using your university email address and following registration key: YKZ8-WEFT-Y6KY-TT2V. Complete the remaining fields (job title: student / main university switchboard telephone number: 020 8331 8000). Click "Register". You will receive an email with a link to complete the registration.
Mintel
Mintel provides full-text marketing intelligence reports and analyst insights on a variety of UK markets such as consumer goods, leisure and hospitality, retail and personal finance. Click on Federated login to get started.
Passport
Passport is a global market information database from Euromonitor. It provides data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers.
WARC
Case studies from the IPA, Effie Worldwide, Thomson Gale and many more that reveal the campaign strategies of leading brands. Articles and Best Practice guides explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges. Market intelligence, including ad forecasts, brand profiles, conference reports and other material on top advertisers, brands and agencies.

Data Dashboards from the House of Commons Library
The House of Commons Library provides data dashboards, including constituency and local area data and economic data.
Eurostat
Statistical office of the European Union.
International Monetary Fund
Data on national economies, international trade, and the global economy.
The National Archive
The National Archive has access to the National Digital Archive of Datasets which provides historical government data.
Nomis from the Office for National Statistics
Nomis focuses on census and labour market statistics, and is provided by the Office for National Statistcs.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) iLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides access to selected OECD periodicals and other publications, including: Working Papers; OECD Factbook; Quarterly Labour Force Statistics; Future Trends; Economic Policy Reforms; and OECD Economic Surveys.
Office for National Statistics
Office for National Statistics is "the UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK".
UK Data Service
The UK's largest collection of social, economic and population data for research and teaching purposes, covering a range of different disciplines. Sources include OECD, IMF, World Bank and the UN.
World Bank Group
The World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions (IBRD, IDA, IFC, MIGA, and ICSID) working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries. This guide provides public sources of economic development information from the Bank Group’s many websites, as well as information from and about the Bank Group.

At the University of Greenwich we subscribe to high quality legal resources that are used by companies throughout the UK and beyond. These include LexisLibrary, Westlaw, JustisOne and LawTrove. You can access all our legal resources via the Online databases and academic journals link in the portal.

Most of the full-text journals available within the law databases are not accessible via LibrarySearch so you will need to access them directly from the databases.

You may find that there is a section within these resources that is specific to the area of law you are interested in. For example, Lexis Library has several Practice Areas, including Employment, which will point you to relevant legislation and journal articles.

For more information about legal resources please visit the Law LibGuide.

Cite Them Right Online
Extensive guidance on how to reference and includes a range of support materials. You can find out how to construct a reference for anything; build your reference on screen; cut and paste the prepared reference straight into your coursework and create references in different styles including Harvard.