Mathematical Sciences

The University subscribes to over 100 databases with varying content, such as journal or newspaper articles, eBooks, maps, streaming media, datasets and guides. the following databases, which can be accessed from the Portal, My learning tab, here is the link:  

A-Z of our databases

As mathematics is pervasive there is no one specific database. Below is a range of databases you might want to consider.

Full text and mostly subject specialist

• EBSCO - this includes many databases, make sure you tick select all 
• Science Direct
• Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - includes journals such as ACM Transactions on Mathematical Software (TOMS)
• IEEE - another computing specialist with lots of mathematical journals
• JSTOR - better for the humanities

Broader services, including indexing tools, citations and alerts, more popular with researchers

• Scopus 
• Web of Science (WoS) 

On LibrarySearch you will find two tools to help you locate the full text of an article you could not source from our databases.

Publication Finder  

Use this to search for a journal title. If we have it, you will be given a link to the database that stocks it.  Remember to check the its with the date range of what we hold.

 Document Delivery Request

Use this to get articles for your research that we don't stock. 

• Cite Them Right

  This will guide you through the reference process, including images, photoo's, sculpture's and computer program(mes)

• Sage Research Methods

  This talks you trough the whole process of doing research

 Sort Link Group  

Studiosity+

A secure site for submitting you work for advice on grammar, context and critical thinking. Please note, this uses AI which has been trained by tutors and none of your work leaves this site or is stored for longer than one month. 

Academic Integrity Matters

This Moodle mini course discusses what is consider appropriate use of others peoples work and why correct referencing matters