The University subscribes to over 100 databases with varying content, such as journal or newspaper articles, eBooks, maps, streaming media, datasets and guides. The full list and links to the databases can be accessed as follows:
Portal -> My Learning -> Online databases and academic journals.
You can also use the link below, please note you will always need to log in with your user id and password.
BCIS Newsletter
The news bulletin below is freely available. To make use of the full services of the Building Cost Information Service, you will need to log into the the portal. Please note: access is on campus only. Keep yourself up to date with BCIS News and Insights feed.
Construction Information Service
The CIS is a practitioner's database. You have access to it via the portal. If you want regular bulletins about weekly document changes to standards, government documents and key leaders in the construction world you will need to create a personal account to receive them.
(RICS) isurv
RICS isurv provides online access to RICS intelligence on all built environment issues. It aims to help construction professionals keep up to date with current practice, regulatory matters, compliance and RICS guidance. Sections on Building surveying; Commercial property; Construction; Legal; Planning; Professional conduct, Sustainability, Valuation and more. Access is on campus only.
Knowledge Workspace: Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (OHSIS); Environmental Management
Provides the professional health and safety practitioner with a comprehensive and current information service containing all documents relevant to workplace health and safety in the UK and Ireland.
Select the Knowledge Workspace link on the IHS Markit login page to access OHSIS Core, OHSIS Single Collection British Standards, Environmental Management and SPECIFY-IT.
Taylor and Francis (T&F)
There are two separate sites, T&F ebooks and T&F online (for journal articles. They publish a lot of material for this subject area, especially the books for your course.
Westlaw.
Provides access to case law, newspapers and legal books including JCT.
On LibrarySearch you will find two tools to help you locate the full text of an article you could not source from our databases.
Use this to search for a journal title. If we have it, you will be given a link to the database that stocks it. Remember to check the its with the date range of what we hold.
Use this to get articles for your research that we don't stock.
This provides access to free streaming tv, movies and radio from both the UK, and news channels and some tv from overseas. Educational and research worthy material goes back as far as the 1950's, though the majority of programmes are from the 1990's onwards. You can reserve programmes up to 2 weeks before they are air, save to My BoB and make clips to submit for your studies.
Kanopy is a video streaming resource with coverage across a wide range of academic disciplines and content, including movies, documentaries and instructional videos.
This will guide you through the reference process, including images, photoo's, sculpture's and computer program(mes)
This talks you trough the whole process of doing research
Studiosity+
A secure site for submitting you work for advice on grammar, context and critical thinking. Please note, this uses AI which has been trained by tutors and none of your work leaves this site or is stored for longer than one month.
Academic Integrity Matters
This Moodle mini course discusses what is consider appropriate use of others peoples work and why correct referencing matters
Library policies | Library Code of Conduct | IT Service Status | Portal
© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions
LibGuides accessibilty