LibGuides: Design: Subject specific content

Free Indexes and Open Source Materials

These databases provide free quality journal articles for everyone, which means you will still have access once you leave university.

CORE - CORE (COnnecting REpositories) provides "a comprehensive bibliographic database of the world’s scholarly literature"

Directory of Open Access Journals - specifically targets journal articles

OpenDoar - sponsored by JISC this allows you to identify and access repositories by country or you can use the advanced filter to search by discipline and types of resources required, including journal articles, patents, datasets and much more

Great Women Animators
Internet Archive aka Wayback Machine
Everything that has been on the web is here, and is still being updated. It holds , old programmes, animation, books, sound and much more.
more...less...
Look out for :
Film Chest Vintage Cartoons - https://archive.org/details/classic_cartoons
Media campaigns
Resilient Web Design By Jeremy Keith
A book licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution‐ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
VADS
Access to images from art and design collections in the UK, free for use in education.

Websites

Cartoon Brew
Dezeen
Their magazine covers Design, Interiors, technology and Architecture. Subscription is free.
The Media Leader
Previously known as Mediatel
Skwigly
Animations news, interviews and podcasts
Viewfinder Magazine
BUFAC the providers of BoB, also provide this monthly magazine full of articles, and copyright advice
more...less...
Includes...https://learningonscreen.ac.uk/viewfinder/articles/im-here-but-you-cant-see-me-women-amateur-filmmakers-attribution-and-the-archive/
Animation Ireland - Careers
ZippyFrames

Barb
Facts and viewing data for TV
BFi - British Film Industry
A historic guide, includes section on animation.
Cartoon Forum
the Chindogu society
The website of the International Chindogu Society, promoting 'chindogu' or the 'unuseless object'. Features designs for object that are not useless, but also not useful. Humourous look at product-obsessive culture.
Computer Graphics Society
Quickdraw Animation Society
Science+ Media Museum
A museum based in Bradford see what's on offer online
She Drew That
Society for Animation Studies
Women in Animation
Stopmotionanimation.com
An international stopmotion group run by Anthony Scott an animation supervisor in the industry in the US
Advertising Producers Association

99% Invisible
Podcast "99% Invisible is a sound-rich, narrative podcast hosted by Roman Mars about all the thought that goes into the things we don’t think about — the unnoticed architecture and design that shape our world."
Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies
Dragonframe
animation tutorials
Gresham College Lectures
Gresham College provides free educational videos and lectures at university level
Instagram - Unnecessary Inventions
An instagram/youtube account that chronicles one man's ongoing quest to solve problems that don't exist. The videos are both funny and informative, as the host often shows his design and prototyping process. see also https://www.youtube.com/@UnnecessaryInventions
Piranhabar
Scratching the Surface
Scratching the Surface is podcast "about design, theory, and creative practice. Hosted by Jarrett Fuller"
Ted Talks
Ted Talks provides stimulating talks from experts. Also, includes, animations, podcasts etc
more...less...
Ones to look out for:
How to conduct an ethnography during social isolation
Ethnography: Ellen Isaacs at TedxBroadway
Toon Boom
The War On Cars
Podcast " The War on Cars is a new podcast about the epic, hundred years’ war between The Car and The City"

Aardman
Animade
Animation/VFX/Game Industry Job Postings
Managed by Chris Mayne. This page also includes the latest news on Internships and educational opportunities.
Cartoon Brew
Animation/VFX/Game Industry Postings
Animated Jobs .Com - Global Animation Jobs Community
Blue Zoo Careers
Animation Ireland
Cartoon Network Studios