LibGuides: Design: Subject databases

Subject databases

Below is a list of some of the most important academic databases for your subject area. This is only a small selection of the databases available via the Library's online collections. A full list of the databases can be accessed via the Databases A-Z link.

You will need to sign into them with your university id and password.

Databases A-Z
A to Z list of all academic databases available at the University of Greenwich.
Art and Art History (via EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers
more...less...
EBSCO is home to many databases, to broaden your search choose select all rather than just the Art and Art History database.
Cambridge Core
Access to 171 Digital Archive titles from 1827 through to approximately 1996 as well as current journals. You can also search, browse and download thousands of ebook content in a variety of subjects across the collection.
JSTOR
This database includes an image bank.
Mintel
Full text Mintel marketing intelligence reports and the daily news digest. Includes reports on consumer goods, the leisure industry, the retail sector, and the personal finance sector.
Vogue
The Vogue Archive traces the history of fashion through the entire backfile of US Vogue magazine digitised across 400,000 pages from 1892 to the present day. Subject coverage includes textiles and dress; fashion history; popular culture; gender studies; photography and graphic design and marketing and advertising
WARC
Gives you access to thousands of case studies from the IPA, Effie Worldwide, Thomson Gale and many more that reveal the campaign strategies of leading brands. Articles and Best Practice guides explain the 'how' and 'why' of marketing challenges. Market intelligence, including ad forecasts, brand profiles, conference reports and other material on top advertisers, brands and agencies.

What to do if the full text of an article is not available.

On LibrarySearch you will find two tools to help you locate the full text of an article you could not source from our databases.

Publication Finder

Use this to search for a journal title. If we have it, you will be given a link to the database that stocks it. Remember to check the its with the date range of what we hold.

Document Delivery Request

Use this to get articles for your research that we don't stock

Streaming Services

Box of Broadcasts
This provides access to free streaming tv, movies and radio from both the UK, and news channels and some tv from overseas. Educational and research worthy material goes back as far as the 1950's, though the majority of programmes are from the 1990's onwards. You can reserve programmes up to 2 weeks before they are air, save to My BoB and make clips to submit for your studies.
more...less...
Lookout for its curated playlists such as:
Digital Art
Interviews
Media and Social Media Playlist
Product Design
Vintage Animation
Media and Social Media Playlist
Interviews with journalists playlist
Discovering Film (Actresses)
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming resource with coverage across a wide range of academic disciplines and content, including movies, documentaries and instructional videos.

Supporting Your Studies - Databases and Products

Cite Them Right

This will guide you through the reference process, including images, photoo's, sculpture's and computer program(mes)
Sage Research Methods

This talks you trough the whole process of doing research

Studiosity+

A secure site for submitting you work for advice on grammar, context and critical thinking. Please note, this uses AI which has been trained by tutors and none of your work leaves this site or is stored for longer than one month.

Academic Integrity Matters

This Moodle mini course discusses what is consider appropriate use of others peoples work and why correct referencing matters