LibGuides: Pharmacy: Subject databases

Subject databases

Below is a list of selected academic databases that are useful when studying pharmacy. A full list of the databases can be accessed via the Databases A-Z link at the bottom of the list.

CINAHL (Available via Greenwich and Kent)
Accessed via EBSCOhost platform
CINAHL is a comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text to more than 770 journals dating back to 1937.It also offers access to books, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more. Subjects include biomedicine, health science, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, with information for almost every possible health, medical and social care profession
MEDLINE (Available via Greenwich and Kent)
Accessed via EBSCOhost platform
Contains citations and abstracts to global biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and healthcare services. Content includes 31,000,000 references to journal articles, 5,200 journals with citations in 60 languages.
Cochrane Library (Freely available online)
Includes databases of systematic reviews and clinical trials. Cochrane are viewed as world leaders on evidence-based information. It is well worth searching the site for any question to do with an intervention (curative, diagnostic or palliative).
Medicines Complete (Greenwich only)
Medicines complete brings together key reference sources such as the BNF and Martindale's. It does not provide access to journal articles but is a fantastic resource for a range of other pharmacy related information. See below for a quick video overview.
Web of Science (Available via Greenwich and Kent)
Core collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Subject coverage includes the arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology.

Databases A-Z
A to Z list of all academic databases available at the University of Greenwich.

Other databases

When you carry out an in-depth literature review, it is necessary to search a much wider range of databases than you might otherwise use. This list covers a range of useful databases provided by the University of Greenwich and the University of Kent as well as various free online databases.

AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (Greenwich only)
Accessed via EBSCOhost platform
AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments. AMED contains basic bibliographic records for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European.
Trip database (Freely available online)
A tool for discovering clinical evidence, including systematic reviews, guidance, primary research and much more.
PubChem
Online database on the biological activities of small molecules, covering compounds, patents. targets, bioactivities and bioassays.