Library Guides        Library Workshops          Opening Hours           Book an Appointment

Computing: Collaborative Partners

Information for Collaborative Students & Staff

This section has been created to give specific support for those studying and teaching on one of our computing courses. For more general guidance on library services for partner and collaborative services see: http://libguides.gre.ac.uk/eresources/offcampus

Authentication

We have about 90 databases. To ensure only University subscribers have access to these resources, we use Shibboleth and OpenAthens authentication, as an added layer of security. Therefore you will usually be asked for your User ID and password via the portal and / or identify your institution i.e. University of Greenwich.  See the following page for the guide and more help. https://libguides.gre.ac.uk/eresources/authentication

Computing Eresources

Some Useful Databases

This directory contains a list of the most useful databases for journal articles, ebooks and datasets.  Most of the subject specific databases provide full text access,whilst the publishers collection are a mixture as we have not bought the full service. .

KEY

Yes = access available

No = our suppliers have restrictions on collaborative access

Titles in bold =  Best databases for most aspects of computing

Database Students UK Partner Institutions Students overseas partner institutions Staff UK partner institutions Staff overseas partner institutions
ACM Digital Library Yes Yes Yes Yes
BFI Inview Yes Yes Yes Yes
British Standards Online Yes Yes Yes Yes
Cambridge Core  Yes Yes Yes Yes
Cite Them Right Online (guidance on how to reference) Yes Yes No No
Ebook Central Yes Yes Yes Yes
EBSCO Ebooks Yes Yes No No
EBSCOHost Research Databases * (incl.Business Source Premier) Yes Yes No No
Emerald Management Yes Yes Yes Yes
Engineering Village Yes Yes Yes Yes
EthOS: Electronic Theses Online Service Yes Yes Yes Yes
FT.com (Financial Times) Yes Yes Yes Yes
GALA (Greenwich Academic Literature Archive) Yes Yes Yes Yes
IEEE Xplore Yes Yes Yes Yes
Proquest Index to Theses Yes Yes Yes No
IngentaConnect Yes Yes Yes Yes
JISC Journal Archives Yes Yes Yes Yes
OECD iLibrary Yes Yes Yes Yes
Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (OHSIS)

(includes some standards)

Yes Yes No No
Oxford Scholarship Online Yes Yes Yes Yes
Project Euclid: Mathematics and Statistics Online Yes Yes Yes Yes
Sage Journals Yes Yes Yes Yes
ScienceDirect Yes Yes Yes Yes
Scopus Yes Yes Yes Yes
SpringerLink Yes Yes No No
SpringerOpen Yes Yes Yes Yes
Taylor & Francis Online Yes No Yes No
UK Data Service Yes Yes Yes Yes
VLE (ebooks) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Web of Science (including Endnote, a bibliographic referencing tool) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Wiley Online Library Yes Yes Yes Yes

* EBSCO Host Research Databases.    Whilst IEEE and ACM look at software and hardware issues, there is so much more to computing than this.  Computers are used by everyone and many people write about them and their uses in specialist journals for their profession. Therefore I recommend you use this database.  When it opens select all.  When you run a search look at Subject: thesaurus terms on the left menu and it will show all the keywords linked to the documents, it could be useful for identifying other words you may not have considered.

Open Access Resources

Databases linking to Free Quality Journal Articles, Books and Preprints.

 

Open Access Journals

Find Open access papers the easy way

 

https://openaccessbutton.org

Academic Services Librarian

Profile Photo
Karen Richardson
Contact:
0208 331 9153 (redirected to home, please introduce yourself as a member of the university)
or chat to me on Teams (click on icon below)
Website
Social: Twitter Page

My availability

Monday         9 - 4 pm

Tuesday       9 - 13.30 pm

Wednesday  9 - 4 pm

Thursday      9 - 13.30 pm

Friday           9 - 5 pm

If you have any questions please feel free to email or put a quick message in Microsoft Teams chat any time.

The time in the UK is currently:

Problems accessing a database?

If you are having problems connecting to an eresource you should complete a portal support request form in the first instance. You can also check our blog to see if the resource you are trying to connect to is experiencing downtime.

© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions | Library policies | IT Service Status