LibGuides: Datasets for Your Research: Earth and Environmental Science

Maps and Geographical Information Systems (GIS)

Available from the portal

CABI Compendium
Data and research on species, pests and diseases across agriculture, aquaculture and livestock production, and the environment
Digimap
It offers a number of data collections, including Ordnance Survey, historical, geological, LiDAR and marine maps and spatial data.

Defra Data
Defra group provides environmental data for a wide range of users.
Natural England Open Data Portal
You will need access to Geographical Information System (GIS) software such as ArcMap, ArcGIS Pro or download and install open source QGIS software
OS - Data Hub
The Ordnance Survey provides access to maps of the British Geological Survey (BGS) Maps
ONS - Open Geography Portal
The Open Geography portal from the Office for National Statistics (ONS) provides free and open access to the definitive source of geographic products, . All content is available under the Open Government Licence v3.0, except where otherwise stated.

Natural Earth
Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales
Open Maps for Europe
Access to pan-European open data created using official map, geospatial and land information.
Open Street Maps
OpenStreetMap is built by a community of mappers that contribute and maintain data about roads, trails, cafés, railway stations, and much more, all over the world
U.S. Geological Survey - USGS
Includes access to historical imagery and other data through EarthExplorer
ESRI - ArcGIS Open Data
Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc., doing business as Esri (/ˈɛzriː/),[5] is an American multinational geographic information system (GIS) software company headquartered in Redlands, California.[6] It is best known for its ArcGIS products.

National

International

Data One
"DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
Environment Databank - World Bank Group
Includes data on energy, water, agricultural and more.
ESRI Canada - Climate Change
Coast to Coast Data
LODE - Linked Open Data Environment
A collection of datasets released under a single open data license (Open Government Licence - Canada), as well as open source tools used to process the data, and collaborations in an open space.
Pangea
PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.

more... less...

It is also archiving public and free to use data from NOAA and EPA data due to Presidents Trump's cut.
UN Environmental Programme - Data Catalogue
Data available for the areas of biodiversity, nature loss, climate change and pollution & waste.
UN Environment Statistics
This provides global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data source
World Resources Institute
Provides datasets in the following areas: atmosphere, cities, economy & industry, land , governance & law and human well being

UK and European Statistical Data

DEFRA - Agriculture in the United Kingdom Dashboard

They provide extensive data sets on agriculture in the UK, including farm incomes, land use, livestock numbers, prices, production of key commodities, overseas trade, organic farming, and the environment
EU country factsheets

These are statistical factsheets focusing on agricultural policy and its impact.
Eurostat - Agriculture

This provides detailed statistical data on various aspects of agricultur

United States of America

Census of Agriculture Historical Archive

Public archive of Census of Agriculture publications published 1945-1987 in PDF format
USDA - National Agriculture Statistics Service

Focuses on annual agricultural statistics, and geospatial data such as vegetation cover, crop conditions, moisture analytics etc
Stanislaus County Crop Reports

*********web site undergoing upgrade re-vamped ******** Crop reports and much more