This guide will help you find high quality, academic and industry, resources on accounting, finance and economics topics.
As your Academic Services Librarian, my role is to make sure you have access to the Library resources you need for your learning and research. I can help you find information for your assignments, projects and research and provide training in searching specific resources. I can also advise on referencing.
If you have any questions, please contact me - Ros Smith (see details, below).
You can make a one-to-one appointment with me (face-to-face or online) by clicking here or by clicking on Schedule Appointment or attend the general workshops we run throughout the year. For more information about our workshops, see Training calendar below or visit the Academic Skills Support page of this guide.
Every week, the Academic Support Team runs workshops on essential library and academic skills.
Sign up by clicking on any of the workshop titles below.
Use LibrarySearch to search for books and ebooks held by the University of Greenwich. LibrarySearch also allows you to search across multiple journal databases in one go. (See the Journal articles tab for more details.)
Please note that LibrarySearch does not search our data resources, such as Eikon, Orbis and Passport.
You can search for a particular journal by name or subject by linking to Publication Finder.
The Chartered Association of Business Schools publishes a guide to Academic Journals, assessing each one by several criteria of quality. These are the top rated journals according to their guides for accounting & finance and economics, econometrics and statistics:
Economics, Econometrics and Statistics
Articles from these journals, and many other high quality journals, are available in LibrarySearch.
Click here for the Chartered Association of Business Schools Academic Journal Guide 2021. You will need to register (free) to access the guide.
You can use LibrarySearch to search all the different journal databases listed below in one go.
However, to focus on specific journal databases that are most useful for accounting, finance and economics subjects, have a look at the individual resources listed below. You can access them from the Online databases and academic journals link on the My learning page on the Portal.
Publisher journal collection databases
Science Direct is an excellent starting point for finding academic journal articles on accounting, finance and economics subjects. ScienceDirect offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection, with journals from a host of prestigious societies and scientific publishers. Click here for tutorials on using ScienceDirect.
Wiley Online Library gives access to an extensive range of journals, reference works and protocols, covering various scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines. Click here to access the Wiley Online Library user guide.
Business and management journal databases
ABI Inform Global includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, both industry and peer-reviewed, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. ABI Inform provides access to key business titles including Wall Street Journal, Economist, Financial Times, Journal of Economic Literature, Journal of International Business Studies, Organization Science, Academy of Marketing Science Journal, American Economic Review, Accounting Review, Supply Chain Management, and MIT Sloan Management Review. Click here to access guides to using ABI Inform.
Business Source Premier is one of the Ebscohost databases that the University subscribes to. Business Source Premier provides access to over 2300 full-text business publications (including 1100 scholarly academic journals). It also includes over 10,000 company and country profile reports. Click here for an introduction to using Ebscohost databases.
Emerald Insight provides a large, comprehensive collection of 198 peer-reviewed management journals and online support for librarians, students, faculty researchers etc. Click here for a guide to searching Emerald Insight.
Multidisciplinary journal databases
Academic Search Premier is also an Ebscohost database. It is a large multidisciplinary with indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, and full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. Click here for an introduction to using Ebscohost databases.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across a range of disciplines, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. We subscribe to the Business 1 and 2 and Art & Sciences 1 collections. Click here for help with searching JSTOR.
Scopus searches millions of abstracts and index data. Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyse and visualise research. Click here to access tutorials on using Scopus.
Web of Science The core collection comprises the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Subject coverage includes the arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology. Click here for help with searching the Web of Science core collection.
Video lectures and case studies from leading experts in industry, commerce, the professions and academia.
Click here for a quick start guide to using the Business & Management Collection.
Eikon contains current and historical financial, company and economic data and news from Refinitiv/Thomson Reuters, including data on financial instruments, debt and stock markets and foreign exchanges.
You can access the web version of Eikon, on- or off-campus by logging in to eikon.thomsonreuters.com/login.
Alternatively, by using one of the dedicated PCs on Level 1of Stockwell St Library on in Queen Anne 274, you can access Datastream and further functionality not available via the Internet.
Eikon usernames and passwords
You will need a specific username and password to access Eikon. To request an Eikon username and password, please complete the request form below or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
See the Eikon LibGuide for further information.
Find financial data on a single company or create a list of companies using ORBIS
Passport is a global market information database from Euromonitor, providing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. Click here for a help guide and videos on using Passport.
Mintel provides full-text marketing intelligence reports and analyst insights on a variety of UK markets such as consumer goods, leisure and hospitality, retail and personal finance. Click on Federated login to get started. Click here for user guides and tutorials on searching Mintel.
Office for National Statistics is the UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
OECDiLibrary provides access to selected OECD periodicals and other publications, including: Working Papers; OECD Factbook; Quarterly Labour Force Statistics; Future Trends; Economic Policy Reforms; and OECD Economic Surveys. For off-campus access use this link. Click here for user guides and tutorials on searching OECD iLibrary
UK Data Service is the UK's largest collection of social, economic and population data for research and teaching purposes, covering a range of different disciplines. Sources include OECD, IMF, World Bank and the United Nations.
At the University of Greenwich we subscribe to a number of high quality legal resources that are used by companies throughout the UK and beyond. These include LexisLibrary Westlaw, JustCite and Lawtel. You can access all our legal resources via the Online databases and academic journals page in the portal.
Most of the full-text journals available within the law databases are not accessible via LibrarySearch so you will need to access them directly from the databases.
You may find that there is a section within these resources that is specific to the area of law you're interested in. For example, Lexis Library has several Practice Areas, including Commercial and Commonwealth25, which will point you to relevant legislation and journal articles.
We have access to all UK national and regional newspapers online, in addition to more specialist news sources like the Financial Times and The Economist.
Lexis Library provides access to full text newspaper articles provides access to full text newspaper articles from national and regional newspapers, dating back to the 1980s. This excludes the Financial Times.
The Economist is available within the ABI Inform Complete database or by searching within LibrarySearch
FT.com provides access to the full-text of the Financial Times. You will need to register to use FT.com. To do this, follow this link and complete the form provided using your University of Greenwich email address. Click here to find videos on registering to use, and searching, FT.com.
If you would like more information on accessing our eresources, including off-campus access, have a look at our Eresources LibGuide.
© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions | Library policies | IT Service Status