Below is a list of some of the most important academic databases for your subject area. This is only a small selection of the databases available via the Library's online collections.
A full list of the databases can be accessed via the Databases A-Z link.
Education Journal Databases
This bibliographic and full-text database covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for over 1,390 journals, plus full text for more than 550 books and monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers.
N.B. Embargoes may be in place on the accessibility of articles published within the last 18 months. You may be able to find the full text of embargoed articles in Taylor and Francis Online.
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines. Covers a broad range of educational topics, including: assessment; continuing education; curriculum development; instructional media; literacy standards; and pedagogical research.
Publisher Journal Collections
Access to 171 Digital Archive titles from 1827 through to approximately 1996 as well as current journals. You can also search, browse and download thousands of ebook content in a variety of subjects across the collection.
SAGE publishes 1,101 journals in the social sciences, humanities and life sciences.
Provides access to the Social Sciences and Humanities Collection of journals. Full text coverage is back to 1997 and up to the current year. The Social Sciences & Humanities Library provides an excellent foundation for research and teaching across the Social Sciences and Humanities, including Education.
Wiley Online Library gives access to an extensive range of journals from the social sciences and the humanities, and includes many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.
Multidisciplinary Journal Databases
Contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals on a range of subjects, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals across a range of disciplines. The collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
One of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyse and visualise research.
Core collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Subject coverage includes the arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology.
Provides access to full text newspaper articles from national and regional newspapers, dating back to the 1980s. This excludes the Financial Times.
PressReader is a newspaper and magazine resource that provides unlimited access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines. There are no limits on downloads. Features include international language translation, text-to-speech and topic alerts.
Open data on the UK government website. Select 'Education' as the topic.
The Department for Education publishes official statistics on education and children.
HESA collects and publishes information about UK higher education.
Data and statistics on inspections and outcomes of services providing education and skills for learners of all ages.
Data and analysis about early years' childcare, school and college education, higher education and adult learning.
Box of Broadcasts is like BBC iPlayer for further and higher education. You can watch, record, edit programmes into clips, create playlists and embed clips into moodle as well as share what you are watching with other users of the service. There is a growing archive of over 1 million programmes from over 60 TV and radio free to air channels to choose from.
Provides access to all 3,803 instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts. Note: select the Sign in through your library to access more features link to be authenticated as a member of the university.
LinkedIn Learning provides video tutorials that are led by industry experts. Once completed, certificates can be added to your LinkedIn profile.
Library policies | Library Code of Conduct | IT Service Status | Portal
© University of Greenwich | FOI | Privacy and cookies | Legal | Terms & conditions
LibGuides accessibilty