LibGuides: Science: Subject databases

Subject databases

Below is a list of some of the most important academic databases for your subject area. This is only a small selection of the databases available via the Library's online collections. A full list of the databases can be accessed via the Databases A-Z link.

Please note that if you are not on campus or on the university IT network, you may need to sign into a database using your University IT login.

Databases A-Z
A to Z list of all academic databases available at the University of Greenwich.
CABI Compendium Crop Protection
The CABI Compendium brings together data and research on species, pests and diseases across agriculture, aquaculture and livestock production and the environment into one comprehensive resource.? It includes images, maps, and diagnostic and decision support tools such as The Horizon Scanning Tool, Pest Risk Analysis Tool, and the Invasive Species Discovery Tool. Our subscription to the Crop Protection channel resource is of particular interest to researchers in the Natural Resources Institute and other areas in the Sciences.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
You can search across any of the following collections: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Education Research Complete, GreenFILE, Humanities International Complete, LISTA (Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts), Medline, PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SportDISCUS and Teacher Reference Center.
Sage Journals
SAGE Publications publishes 1,101 journals in the social sciences, humanities and life sciences, with access to the Premier, IMechE and RSM collections. Over 300 are published on behalf of 250 learned societies and institutions.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect provides access to over 1,850 full text scientific, technical and medical journals from the Freedom Collection, managed by renowned editors, written by respected authors and read by researchers from around the world. Elsevier's full-text collection covers titles from core scientific literature from a host of prestigious societies and scientific publishers.
Springer Link
Provides citations and full-text access to journals in the following subject areas: biological sciences, computing, engineering, environment, humanities, mathematics and statistics, medicine and health, physical sciences and chemistry backfiles from 1997. Springer Nature currently publishes over 2,500 journals in English and a further 200 German language titles in 11 subject areas in science, technology, medicine and humanities and social sciences.
Web of Science
Clarivate Analytics Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Primary is currently comprised of close to 21,000 critically-selected journals, covering 255 subject areas spanning the life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library gives access to an extensive range of journals, reference works and protocols, covering various scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Journal titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.